At WELL, we take the Protected Health Information of your patients very seriously. We given you the option of sending both Secure and Unsecure content to patients, depending on the circumstances.
By default any message sent through WELL is sent as a secure message. On the WELL User side you will notice a lock icon next to any secure messages. Patients will see secure messages as a link with a customizable message that requires them to click the link and verify Protected Health Information to view the content of their message. As a safety measure we have made 'secure' the default to all messages.
Most messages sent to patients will be inherently unsecured, meaning they don't need to be secured because there is no PHI included in the message. To send an unsecured message start the message with "!!" (two exclamation marks), no spaces and begin typing your message. Any message sent without "!!" will be sent secured and show up as a secure link to the patient.
What does the Patient see?
NOTE: This mechanism is available in manual message, broadcasts, automations, campaigns, and quick responses.
Casual vs Professional
The majority of messages to and from patients are non-clinical in nature. Generally, it is not required that nonclinical messages are sent securely or to require protected health information for a patient to view the message. As a general rule, anything that you would freely say to a patient on their voicemail is okay to send unsecured on WELL, which makes correspondence with patients more seamless. However, if you wouldn't leave the information on a voicemail, don’t send it over text without making it secure.